Blinded by White Privilege

“We need an advisory committee to advise the steering committee on how to involve the communities that are not here.”

 “We just need to empower…”

 “We could provide mentors or buddies for people so they don’t feel uncomfortable coming into the room.”

 “Maybe we need someone to come and help us get comfortable with having the conversations.”

All seemingly innocuous comments that are meant to be helpful in addressing a lack of diversity in a room full of forty or so almost all white, highly educated, corporate like people for a conversation about the next steps of a voluntary organization whose mission is dedicated to creating an inclusive society.  Innocuous because, as white people, we do not even know what we are saying.  We are saying, “How do we make it possible or more comfortable for others – the other – to come into our world?”  (And it was a diversity discussion that also included seniors, disabled and very young people as well as people of colour.)

There is no consideration or thought that maybe others don’t want to come into our world or that there are other worlds and world views that exist that maybe we should be more curious about. That we should meet at some point other than in our own world view.  That the invitation to “come and join us and we’ll figure out ways to make it easier for you” might not be all that inviting.

It is the difference between being in your own home and being a cautious guest in the home of another.  Sometimes as guests, we are on our best behaviour. We try to fit into the context of the environment we are in but maybe we never fully relax, never really feel invited to show up fully.  It might even look like we are fitting in but when we go back to our own home, our own environment, we are finally able to relax, knowing someone is not going to judge us or patronize us because of assumptions they are carrying they cannot even see – even when it might be right in front of them in full living colour.  Cannot see because white privilege is blinding.  It blinds us to the things we take for granted without knowing we take them for granted.  In 1988, Peggy Wellesley wrote a thoughtful and eye opening piece on White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack.  Twenty-five years later what she writes is just as relevant and real as it was then.

I never have to wonder if I will be followed by store staff or security guards when I go shopping.  I never have to worry about being arrested at night while locking up my place of employment (and certainly not more than once), keys in hand, police parked in the parking lot. I will never be mistaken for the janitor as I move furniture prior to an Art of Hosting training to get the room ready.  But these things have all happened to friends of mine whose skin is not white.

And it is simple but powerful things that often get overlooked, partly because we are not even aware and partly because we don’t understand how important these things are.  Language is one of those things.  I am paying attention to the language and invitation in a way I never did before and it is taking me on a deep journey.  The opening sentences of this post are a beautiful example of how I am listening with new ears and hearing through the lenses of some of my friends who keep challenging, in loving, gentle but fierce ways, my world view.

Carolann and new friends

Ursula Hillbrand, Dave Ellis, Renee Hayne, Carolann Wright-Parks and Barbara (Bob-e) Epps-Simpson – a few of these people (Dave, Carolann and Bob-e in particular) have been instrumental in helping me expand my world view.

Pictures are another thing.  When I asked my good friend Carolann Wright-Parks, with whom I have had the privilege of co-hosting with in service of the African Nova Scotian Faciltiators Guild, if she knew of any African New Brunswickers who might be interested in attending the Art of Hosting training there this past November, she said to me, “Kathy, I looked at that invitation but I didn’t see myself there.”  She wasn’t meaning herself – she was meaning there were no people of colour in the pictures.  The pictures were from the previous AoH training in New Brunswick.  There were no people of colour at that training.

World Cafe with Diversity

Now I have pictures I use of my friends that illuminate the greater diversity that is showing up.

Not too long ago, in my own naivety, I would have shaken my head, wondering why it mattered.  Wondering why we were not attracting people of colour into our trainings.  Wondering why, even though we keep trying to invite it, we cannot achieve greater diversity.  But now I know why it matters.  It matters because I don’t see it when I look at pictures. Blinded by the white, I do not even realize I identify with the people in the pictures.  I am already there.  Many of my friends haven’t been able to identify with the people in the pictures in the same way.  I am much more aware now of the pictures I use in invitations.

In Minnesota, there are a few good friends in an exploratory conversation – Dave Ellis, Barbara (Bob-e) Simpson-Epps, LeMoine LaPointe, Nancy Bordeaux, Jerry Nagel and myself about what it takes to generate transformative conversations on power, privilege, race and racism – because the ones we’ve been in aren’t yet creating the kind of shift we believe could be possible.  The language of social justice, restorative justice and racial justice has only taken us so far.  What is the language that is needed to take us – all of us – to a different conversation, to a different reflection, to a different perspective, where equality is based on diversity, not on sameness?  What is the language that is a door opener and invitation to shifting the shape of the conversation as we’ve known it?  We don’t know it yet.  We don’t presume to know it.  We know it is needed and we feel now is a time of greater receptivity.  We are excited and hopeful to be in the exploration.  Just like we are in the exploration of Growing Hosting Artistry at the end of January 2014 in Minnesota where we will explore world view, creating safe containers, working with shadow and a few other themes that seem central to growing our depth and capacity as hosts.

Now when I am in a meeting like the one I described above, I find myself stirred up and agitated, sometimes even outraged whereas I know a couple of years ago I would not have seen it.  I would only have seen how progressive the people and the thinking are – which is also true.  And that makes me curious. More and more I am aware of bringing expanded listening and awareness and a willingness to speak up from gained experience and exposure to questions and friends who will not let me rest in naivety or white blindness. And I am grateful to my friends for their boldness, courage and willingness to be in the openness of challenging our limiting beliefs so we can host ourselves into what will hopefully be the transformative space, individually and collectively, that will show us the way into the transformative conversations we are yearning for.

20 thoughts on “Blinded by White Privilege

  1. Wow, thanks for this post. In addition to my own work with the Art of Hosting, I also work with agencies and nonprofits who want to be inclusive. This essay will help with some of those conversations.

    • Thank you Steve. I found the conversation in the meeting illuminating in that I was able to see and understand perspectives in new ways, related to my growing understanding of worldview. It definitely seems to me it is translatable in the way you reference here. I will be curious to hear how it goes.

  2. Such great insights Kathy. Perfect timing for me as I continue to work with a volunteer-based organization that is at a similar point in its journey. Really appreciate your persepctives and learnings here!

  3. Thanks Kathy! Thank you for your post and bringing the great article of Peggy Wellesley to the attention of our profession. I’ve also been in ongoing discovery of how to talk more about the power dynamics in what we do, as my strong social justice leaning and background in African American Studies and white anti-racist activism holds my own feet to the fire of much-needed justice. I’ll soon be posting on my blog an article about a “power cafe'” Alissa Schwartz and I facilitated in NC last summer. It’s one of the ways we are addressing issues of power and representation in our work. If you have space for others in your discovery conversations around racial justice and dialogue, please let me know!

    • Thanks Rita, for your comment and your work. Would love to read your blog on the power cafe you and Alissa hosted. This conversation on racial justice and dialogue is not one to be limited to just a few – how ironic would that be – and there is a team of us in a discovery process to set some purpose, principles and collective clarity as a first step toward opening up the invitation and conversation more broadly. I will make a note of your interest and also maybe a conversation would be a helpful thing at this stage – to discover who we each are.

  4. Pingback: Understanding World View and How It Impacts Us as Hosts | Growing Hosting Artistry

  5. Pingback: Worldview Awareness – Imagining the Possibilities | ShapeShift

  6. Pingback: Worldview Awareness as a Transformative Process | ShapeShift

  7. Pingback: What is it to be Worldview Aware? | ShapeShift

  8. Pingback: What is it to be Worldview Intelligent? | Worldview Intelligence

  9. Pingback: Worldview Influences Pattern Recognition (and Vice Versa) | Worldview Intelligence

  10. Pingback: Dan Christmas – A Leader Making A Difference | Worldview Intelligence

  11. Pingback: Times of Unrest, Polarity and Amplification of Difference – Worldview Intelligence

  12. Pingback: Yearning for A Different Conversation, Yearning for a Turning Point | ShapeShift

  13. Pingback: Worldview Intelligence Offers an Elegant Structure to Support Powerful Dialogue – Worldview Intelligence

  14. Pingback: Today, Finally, I Cried – Embracing the Stranger in Me

  15. Pingback: Do We, As White People, Have Inclusion and How To Go About It All Wrong? Part 1 - Worldview Intelligence: Change The Outcome

  16. Pingback: Charting a Path to Bridge Divides (Part 3 of 3) - Worldview Intelligence: Change The Outcome

Leave a comment